Building something

Among the many reasons I love being a journalist includes something I’ve always called “a slice of time.”

What does that mean, exactly?

To me, it has always meant getting a chance to tell the story that EXACT moment as you saw it happening. “Put me there and make me care,” my very first editor, Freddie used to say.

And that is exactly how I feel about this project for work I’m building. Well, not just me, a raft of people really. A whole cargo ship of people from designers to developers, marketers to media gurus, writers to runners, and everyone in between.

We are all working to tell one story the best way we know, in the moment.

The thing about being a reporter that people often forget, is that we interview people and speak to them about how they are feeling at one slice in time– but by the time the story publishes, that exact moment has passed.

All we can do as journalists, to the best of our ability is capture the sentiment and emotion of the moment, hoping that we will do it well enough that a reader can connect with the words and see a bit of themselves in the words.

Every morning, as soon as I get to the office, I sit with my coffee and read e-mail after e-mail from people, just all relaying moments in their life they think defined them as a runner.

Some are funny, some are somber. Some I have to read several times in order to understand. But, they are all a piece of a larger narrative — the story women runners have to tell as a collective.

As this team of incredibly talented people work to build the tech behind the site, it’s the women themselves, and their voices, that will give it a soul.

Every day, a different slice in time. That’s what I’m aiming for, anyway.

Leave a Reply

